top of page

Heartbreak & Hard Times: How to survive.

Updated: Apr 3, 2020


Have you ever had that feeling every challenge you’ve ever faced has prepared you for this very moment? That’s because it has!


Thankfully, whatever hardship you face you can overcome by turning to the people around you for support and accessing your vast inner well of knowledge, experience, and strength.

I’m forever grateful for these lifeboats that kept me afloat years ago after life delivered a series of hard blows. My beloved mom, who I left my job to care for, passed away. Then a few months later, I lost my marriage, my home, and what I thought would be my secure future. I had to say goodbye to two of the great loves of my life, and sometimes I couldn’t catch my breath through my fear and heartache.

One hope fueled step in front of the other; I found a job that restored my sense of purpose and allowed me to strengthen myself by helping others, along with a much-needed income.

That was also when I discovered the importance of regular self-care practices and the healing powers of meditation, journaling, and support groups.

Time passed, I picked up the pieces, and gratefully have a life partner, a home, and career I adore. Although I miss my mom every day, I find so much comfort knowing how thrilled she would be that both my sister and I are doing what she raised us to do; thrive and carry on her light.

And today, this current situation we are facing fighting this virus reminds me of that difficult period in my life when I had to make incredibly hard choices during a time of extreme stress and uncertainty.

Having walked through this storm, I am here to tell you it IS possible to make it through. You come fully equipped with a built-in compass to guide your every step and decision, no matter the conditions. And this internal navigation device is perfectly programmed to lead you in the direction that’s right for you.

These powerful forces guiding your way are your values – those things you most want to nurture in yourself and in the world. Kindness, courage, and hope led the way for me.

The lesson I learned, even if it was not apparent at the time, was that by identifying and knowing my core values, I had the clarity and drive to keep moving toward my best and most authentic self and life.

I believe the most magnificent treasure buried underneath times that try our souls lies in what we learn. I am forever richer in the knowledge and assurance that we have everything we need within us to keep our course correct.

I would love to hear what values guide your way during these times of stress and uncertainty in the comments below.

198 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page