top of page

Our Path to Prosperity

Updated: Feb 25, 2020

One of my favorite things about January is the time we take as a Nation to honor one of our heroes, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and the equality movement for which he devoted his life.


Our focus at Tori Belle this month is increasing prosperity by expanding what we value most in the world. Dr. King epitomizes this effort, making him one of the richest men in history. How lucky are we he bequeathed his legacy to us all!


And, thanks to the roll out of our new social recognition award program, we've shone a light on our Tori Belle Prosperity Heroes who courageously utilize the Tori Belle business opportunity to make their own and other people’s lives better.


Our heroic path to prosperity is, like many of life's destinations, simple, but full of obstacles.


A successful journey requires three critical steps:


1. Know what you want and don’t be afraid to dream it


2. Believe you are worthy of it


3. Boldly stretch yourself out of your comfort zone and get it


Six months before Dr. King’s death he spoke to a group of students, encouraging them to strive for excellence every day by having a “life blueprint”.


Like a personal mission statement, a life blueprint is the overarching plan of what we intend to accomplish in our life; giving us the ability to measure whether we’re reaching our potential to do great things.


I began to wonder how I was doing in my pursuit of excellence each day. Was there anything I might commit to for the next 30 days in the name of excellence?


I am happy to report I've recently spent time on the path to prosperity aided by the regular infusion of motivation I get from our TB family, my support squad, and the fire the New Year put under me.


I've committed to a regular yoga and meditation practice and am tracking my food choices daily. And, I started an 8-week class at my community center on the Consciousness of Healing.


Change is hard, and habits run deep and from lots of experience I am acutely aware that without focus and conscious effort, I could easily stumble, because after all, aren't stumbles inevitable?


Case in point; I recently discovered the sweetest show, Anne with and E, on Netflix. Each episode is full of feel good moments, life lessons and frivolity! Just my thing!


As is often the case with my favorite shows, one episode turns into three or four, and I found myself mindlessly snacking and staying up way too late to get up for my 6:00 am yoga practice with my friend.


As I peeled myself off the couch at dark-o-thirty, heart pounding with exhaustion, dusting off the popcorn evidence, I knew my perfect streak of yoga was over and a sinking feeling came over me...and so the stumble began.


In the past this may have spelled an end to my goal, but not this time. I knew what must be done. I set off to humbly do some self-inquiry. To maintain an awareness of my intention, where I want to be, while asking myself if my actions were getting me there.

My next question was what was one little thing I could do to utilize the present moments continual gift of starting again?


During this time of weakness I decided that instead of berating myself for faltering, I would fortify myself by remembering how far I had come!


I started the year with audacious goals and the reality is achieving them is going to take countless actions and choices every day, each one as important as the last.


My new approach this year is to celebrate and honor my small victories. Thinking about how many days I made good choices made me feel better and soon I was able to dust myself off.


That's when I called my yoga buddy and we made up our missed class on the weekend. This yoga session had such a heightened sense of joy.


I was overcome with gratitude for this small victory and that's when I had an ah ha moment. I realized that we admire our heroes for their courageous and persistent efforts to get back on that path every day more than the actual outcome.


Also, this process showed me the importance of grace. Graciously recognizing our stumbles and our small victories restores our resolve not to let anything stop us from our goal.


Each step in our pursuit is worth celebrating; it may be one small step yet it is a very big victory!


A great question to direct us right back along our path to prosperity is, 'What positive choices have I made in my pursuit of excellence?"


Share your pursuits in the comments below.


Large victories begin as small achievements. Honor each one. ~Tamara Levitt








91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page